Ireland
--:--IST
Latest
Astellas Expands Its 330 Million Euro Tralee Biopharma Facility with a Second Aseptic Filling Line to Double Drug-Product Capacity Xeolas Pharmaceuticals Opens 158,000 Sq Ft State-of-the-Art Baldoyle Facility to Scale Specialty Medicine Manufacturing Priya Life Science Partners with Fleming for the 9th Annual Corporate Compliance & Transparency in Life Sciences Summit in Zurich Ireland Has the Capital and the Lessons: Digital Project Management Is How They Become Delivery Dunbar Pharma Brings First Plant-Derived Dronabinol API to UK Market Through IPS Pharma Leveraging Priya Life Science as a Data Tracker: The Ultimate Use Case & Career Guide The €100K Reality Check: Why a Six-Figure Pharma Salary in Ireland Feels Different Than in Switzerland or Germany Ireland's €93.8 Billion Non-EU Pharma Export Engine: 2025 Eurostat Trade Data and Economic Impact Astellas Expands Its 330 Million Euro Tralee Biopharma Facility with a Second Aseptic Filling Line to Double Drug-Product Capacity Xeolas Pharmaceuticals Opens 158,000 Sq Ft State-of-the-Art Baldoyle Facility to Scale Specialty Medicine Manufacturing Priya Life Science Partners with Fleming for the 9th Annual Corporate Compliance & Transparency in Life Sciences Summit in Zurich Ireland Has the Capital and the Lessons: Digital Project Management Is How They Become Delivery Dunbar Pharma Brings First Plant-Derived Dronabinol API to UK Market Through IPS Pharma Leveraging Priya Life Science as a Data Tracker: The Ultimate Use Case & Career Guide The €100K Reality Check: Why a Six-Figure Pharma Salary in Ireland Feels Different Than in Switzerland or Germany Ireland's €93.8 Billion Non-EU Pharma Export Engine: 2025 Eurostat Trade Data and Economic Impact
Regulatory Affairs

Wegovy in Ireland: NCPE Backs It, HSE Decision Still Awaited

Sreepriya Prasannan
Sreepriya Prasannan

NewsWritten by our team from the primary sources linked below. Reviewed, verified and approved by a human editor. How we check

Speed:
Wegovy in Ireland: NCPE Backs It, HSE Decision Still Awaited

Irish public patients still cannot get Wegovy (semaglutide) for obesity on the medical card or the Drugs Payment Scheme, even after the National Centre for Pharmacoeconomics (NCPE) said the medicine is value for money. The HSE has not published a funding decision, and a US pricing deal with Novo Nordisk has raised new questions about prices outside America.

This report sets out what the NCPE found in its assessment, completed on 13 October 2026, what the HSE has to decide next, what public funding could cost, and how the November 2025 agreement between the US government and Novo Nordisk works. It uses the NCPE's own documents first and attributes every other figure to the source that published it.

Key Highlights:
  • NCPE outcome (HTA ID 25024, 13 October 2026): Wegovy should "be considered for reimbursement", but budget impact estimates "are substantial" and affordability must be considered.
  • Cost per patient: €2,918 a year at the 2.4mg weekly dose, including VAT, the 9% Framework Agreement rebate and pharmacy fees (NCPE).
  • Cost to the State: about €4.4 billion over five years for the full licensed population; €263 million to €3.2 billion in narrower groups (NCPE).
  • HSE decision: not published. The HSE Drugs Group recommends, then HSE senior leadership decides, which RTÉ reported "may take several months".
  • US deal: Wegovy at $350 a month through TrumpRx, and a company guarantee of most-favoured-nation (MFN) prices on new medicines (White House, 6 November 2025).

1. What the NCPE found

The HSE commissioned a full health technology assessment of Wegovy for weight management on 29 May 2025, after a rapid review. Novo Nordisk sent its full submission on 23 February 2026, and the NCPE completed its assessment on 13 October 2026. The company is seeking reimbursement on the Community Drug Schemes, which include the medical card and the Drugs Payment Scheme.

The assessment covers adults with a body mass index (BMI) of 30 or more, or a BMI of 27 to under 30 with at least one weight-related condition such as prediabetes, type 2 diabetes, high blood pressure, high cholesterol, obstructive sleep apnoea or heart disease. Its conclusion reads: "the NCPE recommends that semaglutide (Wegovy®) be considered for reimbursement for the indication under assessment. Budget impact estimates associated with semaglutide are substantial. Consideration will need to be given, regarding the affordability of semaglutide, when making a decision regarding reimbursement."

In its plain English summary, the NCPE says "we believe the medicine is value for money". Its adjusted estimate of the cost per quality-adjusted life year (QALY) gained was €37,434 for the full licensed population, against diet and exercise alone, compared with Novo Nordisk's own estimate of €28,125. Across six patient groups specified by the HSE, the NCPE's adjusted figures ranged from €27,043 to €41,687 per QALY.

The NCPE also noted limits in the evidence: no comparative data beyond four years, and uncertainty over whether the diet and exercise support given in the STEP clinical trials matches what patients receive in Irish practice.

2. How Wegovy compares with Mounjaro

The NCPE assessed Eli Lilly's Mounjaro (tirzepatide) for the same use in December 2025. RTÉ reported that the price then submitted worked out at €5,526 to €6,214 per patient per year and was judged not cost-effective, and that Lilly has since made a new pricing offer. NCPE clinical director Professor Michael Barry told RTÉ that Wegovy is cheaper than Mounjaro. The NCPE's Wegovy summary states that tirzepatide "remains under consideration for reimbursement by the HSE". We covered that process in our report on the HSE's Mounjaro funding decision.

NCPE assessments of obesity medicines in Ireland
ItemWegovy (semaglutide)Mounjaro (tirzepatide)
NCPE HTA ID2502424024
Assessment completed13 October 20263 December 2025
Annual cost per patient€2,918 (2.4mg weekly); €4,370 (7.2mg weekly)€5,526 to €6,214 (as reported by RTÉ)
OutcomeConsidered for reimbursement; affordability to be weighedNot cost-effective at the submitted price (RTÉ); new Lilly offer since
HSE decisionNot publishedNot published

3. What public funding could cost

The NCPE gives the price to wholesaler of a 2.4mg Wegovy pen, which holds four weekly doses, as €169.13. That leads to the annual figure of €2,918 per patient. Because so many adults meet the licensed criteria, the total is large. In the full licensed population, the NCPE puts the five-year net drug budget impact at approximately €4.4 billion, including VAT. Using its own adjusted assumptions in the six HSE-specified groups, the estimate ranges from €263 million for people with a BMI of 40 or more and at least one weight-related condition, to €3.2 billion for everyone with a BMI of 30 or more.

That range explains why the NCPE flagged affordability: the total depends heavily on which patients are covered. Whether the HSE limits funding to a narrower group, and at what price, has not been disclosed. At present the only GLP-1 medicine reimbursed for weight management is liraglutide (Saxenda), under a HSE managed access protocol for adults with a BMI of 35 or more who have prediabetes and a high cardiovascular risk.

4. What happens next at the HSE

The NCPE advises; it does not decide. Its report, recommendation and a patient organisation submission from the Irish Coalition for People Living with Obesity go to the HSE, which must also apply the criteria in the Health (Pricing and Supply of Medical Goods) Act 2013. According to RTÉ, the HSE Drugs Group will consider the assessment and make a recommendation to HSE senior leadership, and "this may take several months". No date has been announced. The HSE's patient page on obesity medicines still states that "Wegovy is not covered by the medical card, Long-Term Illness Scheme and Drugs Payment Scheme." Background on the policy debate is in our analysis, The GLP-1 dilemma.

5. How the US most-favoured-nation deal works

On 6 November 2025 the White House announced agreements with Novo Nordisk and Eli Lilly. It said Ozempic and Wegovy would fall from $1,000 and $1,350 a month to $350 through its TrumpRx website, and that Medicare would pay $245, with patients paying a $50 monthly co-pay. The two companies also agreed to "guarantee MFN prices on all new medicines that they bring to market" and to repatriate increased foreign revenue on existing products. Novo Nordisk committed an additional $10 billion investment in the US.

US prices announced by the White House, 6 November 2025 (per month)
Product or channelBeforeUnder the deal
Wegovy, TrumpRx$1,350$350
Ozempic, TrumpRx$1,000$350
Medicare price (GLP-1s listed)Not stated$245, patient co-pay $50
Oral GLP-1 starting dose, if approvedNot stated$150

MFN pricing ties US prices to those paid in other wealthy countries. Reuters has reported industry concern that this could disrupt European launches, because a low price agreed in a European market could feed back into a lower US price. Novo Nordisk chief executive Mike Doustdar gave a different view in May 2026, telling Reuters: "We are considering MFN obviously as part of our planning, but it's not a limiting factor." Reuters reported that the company was pushing ahead with the Wegovy pill outside the US in the second half of 2026.

Novo Nordisk has not, in any public statement we could find, set out how the US agreement affects its Irish reimbursement application for Wegovy injection, which is already on the Irish market and is not a new launch.

6. The Irish manufacturing link

Novo Nordisk's main Irish site is in Monksland, Athlone. On 2 March 2026 the company announced a €432 million investment in the tabletting facility there to expand capacity for oral GLP-1 medicines, with the site acting as a hub for markets outside the US. It said the site has 260 employees, the project would create up to 500 construction jobs, and work would finish in phases from the end of 2027 through 2028. See our earlier report on the Athlone expansion and the Novo Nordisk company profile.

7. What it means for patients now

Wegovy can be prescribed privately in Ireland by a doctor and dispensed by a pharmacy, but patients pay the full cost themselves. Private prices vary and were not set out in the official sources used for this report. The HSE advises people not to buy obesity medicines online because "you cannot be sure if they are real or fake". Anyone considering a weight-loss medicine should speak to their GP or pharmacist about whether it is suitable for them. More detail on the medicine is on our semaglutide drug page, and the wider competitive picture is in our obesity power rankings.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Wegovy free on the medical card in Ireland?

No. The HSE states that Wegovy is not covered by the medical card, the Long-Term Illness Scheme or the Drugs Payment Scheme. The NCPE has recommended that the HSE consider funding it, but the HSE has not published a decision.

When will the HSE decide on Wegovy?

No date has been announced. The HSE Drugs Group must first make a recommendation to HSE senior leadership, and RTÉ reported that this may take several months.

Does the US pricing deal set Irish prices?

No. Irish prices are agreed between the company and the HSE under Irish law. The US deal commits Novo Nordisk to MFN prices on new medicines in the US, which links US prices to other countries. Novo Nordisk's chief executive said in May 2026 that MFN is part of planning but "not a limiting factor".

Outlook

The next step is a recommendation from the HSE Drugs Group. Things to watch are whether the HSE funds Wegovy for all eligible adults or for a narrower high-BMI group first, whether it decides on Wegovy and Mounjaro together, and whether Novo Nordisk sets out publicly how US pricing rules affect its offer to Ireland. Any change will be reported here.

Sources

Cover image: AI-generated illustration of the Wegovy pen and carton. It is not a photograph of the real product or its packaging.

Reviewed for editorial accuracy by Sreepriya Prasannan, Founder & Editor MSc Digital Transformation of Life Sciences (Innopharma Education / Griffith College); MSc & BSc Botany
Our standards
Related from our data
Kayshild 0.25 mg solution for injection in pre-filled pen — Semaglutide · Irish Medicines Database Medical Air — Oxygen · Irish Medicines Database Medical Carbon Dioxide — Carbon dioxide · Irish Medicines Database Medical Nitrous Oxide — Nitrous oxide · Irish Medicines Database
Semaglutide's Efficacy in Achieving Weight Loss for Those With HIV — Recruiting in Ireland · Trials Tracker Medication Following Bariatric Surgery for Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus — Recruiting in Ireland · Trials Tracker
Drugs in this article: current clinical trials
Most-trialled drugs in our registers
Browse all trial registers →

Get the Friday brief

One email every Friday: a 60-second summary, then only the topics you choose: industry news, approvals and market access, shortages, Irish trials, careers or data, all built from public registers.

Free. Unsubscribe from any email with one click. See our privacy policy.

About the Author
Sreepriya Prasannan

Sreepriya Prasannan

Writer at Priya Life Science · Regulatory Affairs

Sreepriya Prasannan is the Founder and Editor of Priya Life Science, Ireland's independent pharma, biotech and MedTech platform. She holds an MSc in Digital Transformation (Life Science) from Griffith College Dublin, with a background in QA, GMP and production operations. Shortlisted for STEM Graduate of the Year at the Business Post Women in STEM Awards 2026 and a Top 14 finalist in the HSE Spark Ignite 2026 innovation programme, she writes on regulatory trends, GMP compliance and careers across the Irish and European life sciences.

Discussion
No comments yet. Be the first to share your thoughts!
Leave a Comment