Northern Ireland's Department of Health will invest £1.95 million in endometriosis services, Health Minister Robbie Butler announced on 2 November 2026. The money gives £700,000 to the two Regional Endometriosis Centres in the Belfast and Western Trusts and £1.25 million, shared equally, to all five Health and Social Care Trusts.
The Department describes this as the Phase 1 investment. It is meant to improve access to care, cut waiting times and support a new Regional Endometriosis Pathway. The Minister made the announcement during a visit to the Regional Endometriosis Centre at Belfast City Hospital, where a Da Vinci 5 robotic surgery platform is now used for gynaecology.
- Total: £1.95 million Phase 1 investment in endometriosis services across Northern Ireland (Department of Health, 2 November 2026).
- Specialist centres: £700,000 for the Regional Endometriosis Centres in the Belfast and Western Health and Social Care Trusts.
- Local services: £1.25 million distributed equally across the five Health and Social Care Trusts to support local improvements and the Regional Endometriosis Pathway.
- Robotic surgery: 130 patients needing complex surgery have had robotic assisted surgery at Belfast City Hospital since the platform launched in May 2026.
- Funding source: the Executive's £80 million Programme for Government funding package for elective care in 2026/27.
What does the £1.95 million pay for?
The Department's notes to editors set out two parts. The first is £700,000 for Northern Ireland's two Regional Endometriosis Centres, run by the Belfast Health and Social Care Trust and the Western Health and Social Care Trust. The second is £1.25 million "distributed equally across the five Health and Social Care Trusts". Shared equally, that works out at £250,000 for each Trust.
The Trust money is for local service improvements and for putting the new Regional Endometriosis Pathway into practice. The Department has not published how each Trust will spend its share, how many staff or clinics it will fund, or a timetable for the pathway. Those details are not disclosed.
| Element | Amount |
|---|---|
| Regional Endometriosis Centres (Belfast and Western Trusts) | £700,000 |
| Five Health and Social Care Trusts, shared equally | £1,250,000 |
| Total Phase 1 investment | £1,950,000 |
What did the Health Minister say?
Minister Butler said: "For too many women, endometriosis can affect every aspect of daily life. Many have experienced long waits for diagnosis and treatment while living with significant pain and uncertainty."
He added: "This £1.95 million investment is an important step towards improving access to diagnosis, treatment and support. Through investment in specialist services, local care and a regional pathway, women will receive the right care, in the right place, at the right time."
Professor Mark Taylor, Regional Clinical Director for Elective Care, said: "Endometriosis care relies on multi-disciplinary teams working across hospitals and services to provide co-ordinated care and support. Alongside advances in robotic-assisted surgery, that collaboration is helping us deliver increasingly complex treatments in less invasive ways and support faster recovery for patients."
How does robotic surgery fit in?
The Regional Endometriosis Centre at Belfast City Hospital has a dedicated Da Vinci 5 robotic surgery platform for gynaecology. According to the Department, 130 patients who needed complex surgery have had robotic assisted operations since it launched in May 2026. The capital cost of the platform was paid by Belfast Health and Social Care Trust Charitable Funds, with revenue support from the Department of Health. The purchase price was not disclosed.
What has happened to gynaecology waiting lists?
The Department linked the announcement to its wider work on gynaecology waits. It said earlier funding of £1.8 million for assessment and triage and £1.9 million for procedural nursing capacity is helping more women get gynaecology care.
The figures below are as published by the Department. It did not publish a separate waiting list count for endometriosis.
| Measure | Figure |
|---|---|
| Outpatient waiting lists, Northern Ireland, September 2025 | 54,770 |
| Outpatient waiting lists, Northern Ireland, September 2026 | 47,318 |
| Patients waiting more than one year for inpatient and day case treatment | Down 56% |
| Belfast Trust, women waiting for a first outpatient gynaecology appointment | Down 4% |
| Belfast Trust, longest wait for a first appointment | 2 years and 10 months |
| Belfast Trust, longest inpatient and day case wait | Down from 7 years to 3 years |
The investment also supports the Getting It Right First Time (GIRFT) Report for Gynaecology. A Regional Health and Social Care Gynaecology Services Forum has been set up to oversee service improvement across the region.
Why is diagnosis of endometriosis so slow?
The Department describes endometriosis as "a chronic condition in which tissue similar to the lining of the womb grows elsewhere in the body and can cause severe pelvic pain, fatigue and fertility problems". The World Health Organization's fact sheet of 15 October 2025 states: "Endometriosis affects an estimated 10% (190 million) of reproductive age women worldwide."
NICE guideline NG73, Endometriosis: diagnosis and management, first published in September 2017 and last updated on 11 November 2024, says "Delayed diagnosis is a significant problem for women with endometriosis" and that "Delays of 4 to 10 years can occur between first reporting symptoms and confirming the diagnosis."
How does this compare with the Republic of Ireland?
South of the border, the HSE and its National Women and Infants Health Programme run two supra-regional endometriosis centres, at Tallaght University Hospital and Cork University Maternity Hospital, backed by a network of regional hub services. When the Cork centre opened in April 2025, the HSE said the Government had invested over €5 million to fund staffing across endometriosis services since 2021. The two systems are funded and organised differently, so the figures are not directly comparable.
Frequently asked questions
How much is Northern Ireland investing in endometriosis services?
£1.95 million in Phase 1, announced by Health Minister Robbie Butler on 2 November 2026.
Which hospitals and Trusts benefit?
The Regional Endometriosis Centres in the Belfast and Western Trusts receive £700,000. All five Health and Social Care Trusts share £1.25 million equally.
Will there be a Phase 2?
The Department calls this the Phase 1 investment but has not announced the amount or timing of any further phase.
I think I may have endometriosis. What should I do?
This article is not medical advice. If you have symptoms such as severe period pain or ongoing pelvic pain, talk to your GP.
Outlook
The next steps to watch are how each Trust uses its £250,000 share, when the Regional Endometriosis Pathway is published in full, and whether the Department reports endometriosis-specific waiting times. Priya Life Science will update this report if the Department of Health or the Trusts publish further detail.
Sources
- Department of Health (Northern Ireland), £1.95m Investment in Endometriosis Services, 2 November 2026
- NICE, Endometriosis: diagnosis and management (NG73), Context, published 6 September 2017, last updated 11 November 2024
- World Health Organization, Endometriosis fact sheet, 15 October 2025
- HSE, Minister for Health Jennifer Carroll MacNeill TD opens new Endometriosis Centre in Cork to provide specialist care for women, 4 April 2025
Cover image: AI-generated illustration.